Dignity for All Students Act

New York State’s Dignity for All Students Act (The Dignity Act or DASA) seeks to provide the State’s public elementary and secondary school students with a safe and supportive environment free from discrimination, intimidation, taunting, harassment, and bullying on school property, a school bus and/or at a school function.

For students, the Dignity Act guarantees tolerance, respect for others, and an awareness and sensitivity in the relations of people, including but not limited to, different races, weights, national origins, ethnic groups, religions, religious practices, mental or physical abilities, sexual orientations, gender identity, and sexes. Any harassing or bullying activity can be reported to a DASA Coordinator who must ensure that the behavior is remediated. 

For more information on DASA, visit the NYS Education Department's Dignity for All Students Act page.

DASA Coordinators in Rockland County

*Please check with school administration to confirm that the listed individual is an active coordinator.

East Ramapo Central School District

District DASA Coordinator: Kelly Dowd kdowd@ercsd.org
Chestnut Ridge Dignity Act Coordinator: Stephanie Dilfate sdilfate@ercsd.org
Pomona Dignity Act Coordinator: Angela Alexander aalexander@ercsd.org & Duff Pannell dpannell@ercsd.org
Spring Valley Dignity Act Coordinator: Dionne Olamiju dolamiju@ercsd.org
Ramapo Dignity Act Coordinator: Sherrill Murray-Lazarus slazarus@ercsd.org

Pearl River School District

District DASA Coordinator: Todd Santabarbara (845) 620-3943
Pearl River High School Building Coordinator: Andrea Pompey  (845) 620-3800
Pearl River Middle School Building Level Coordinator: Dr. Kristin Talleyrand (845) 620-3870

Nyack School District

Nyack School District DASA Coordinator: Dr. Giordanella (845) 353-7045

Nanuet Central School District

Nanuet School District DASA Coordinator: R. Gilmour rguccion@nanuetsd.org

Rockland BOCES

DASA Coordinator for Central Office Rockland BOCES: Ana Reluzco areluzco@rboces.org (845) 627-4712   DASA Coordinator At-Large Rockland BOCES: Darlene Westinghouse dwestinghouse@rboces.org (845) 627-4757

South Orangetown Central School District

Director of Human Resources: Jeremy Barker jbarker@socsd.org (845) 690-1030

North Rockland School District

North Rockland High School Dignity Act Coordinator: John Kolesar jkolesar@northrockland.org, Jorge Montero jmontero@northrockland.org, Joan Murphy jmurphy@northrockland.org (845) 942-3320 & Francisco Ovalles fovalles@northrockland.org
Fieldstone Middle School Dignity Act Coordinators: Natalie Armstrong narmstrong@northrockland.org (845) 942-7903 & Kelly O'Sullivan kosullivan@northrockland.org

Ramapo Central School District

Deputy Superintendent for Human Resources: Stephen Walker sawalker@ramapocentral.org 845-357-7783 ext.11

 

Transgender Model Policies

Transgender Model Policies